Wings

Some days I sit next to my balcony and watch the gold and house finches, the chickadees, the white-crowned sparrows, the hawks, and the ravens. They soar, float, and flutter through the day.

I sit still, lightly breathing.

Long ago, I had no time to watch the birds. My life was busy with my work and personal life. I would sometimes smell the flowers, but I didn’t notice the little birds and animals right under my nose.

Now that I have to stop–now that I have to watch my health, I have learned one thing. Life is about eating, sleeping, families, and death. My immortality is not assured.

Today, I watch the birds. Tomorrow I write about them. And someday, someone may write about me.

About Cyn Bagley

My life is a mixture of travel, jobs, and disease. You can find some of my novels on amazon.com under the name Cyn Bagley.
This entry was posted in Sunday Scribblings. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Wings

  1. chiefbiscuit says:

    You have a talent for reminding me what’s important Cyn. This is a poignant piece of writing.

  2. Thank you chiefb. I try. šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

