Masks


The topic for Sunday Scribblings today is Masks. The photo is a tlingit shaman mask from the St. Petersburg Museum.

For me, there are only two reasons to make and wear a mask. The first reason is to hide some part of a person’s personality. We wear masks daily in our workplace. I know that when I am in a certain place, I only show a small portion of the person I am. Is it good or bad?

The other reason to make or wear a mask is to receive inspiration from the gods. Shaman masks are made to give the wearer and the viewer a story–sometimes for inspiration and sometimes for warnings.

When I was in my twenties, I tried to not wear a mask at all. When I was angry, I said angry things. When I was happy, I said happy things. It was needful because at the time I was so entrenched in the culture that I did not know when I was happy. I thought that things–house, car, husband–would make me happy. I learned life without a mask was just fine.

It did make the people around me very uncomfortable.

Now, I wear my mask. I hold my privacy sacred. I see …

About Cyn Bagley

My life is a mixture of travel, jobs, and disease. You can find some of my novels on amazon.com under the name Cyn Bagley.
This entry was posted in Sunday Scribblings. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Masks

  1. I hadn’t thought about the Shaman masks – interesting theory. I think we all pick up and discard certain masks at different times in our lives. The best times are as you said, private, when no masks are needed.

  2. ParisThanks for commenting. The first masks were made for occasions for man to touch god.

  3. We picked up quite a few masks during our travels throughout Alaska- they are beautiful but also very interesting as far as culture and history… thanks for sharing your picture.

  4. Thank you Regina… I bet the masks were interesting.

  5. I’ve got several masks from Malawi, I’m wishing I’d shared a photo or two! Your mask is wonderful and your words are really interesting. I’m fascinated by shamanism.

  6. crafty… I am also fascinated by shamanism and Native American Medicine. It does help that I live in the West.

  7. Terry says:

    Makeup can be a mask, too, one I’ve only recently gotten comfortable going with out.

  8. So true Terry. I have not been able to wear makeup for awhile. What freedom.

  9. CV Rick says:

    I live two different lives .. . one is a mask. What I write about my life and my experiences and what I feel about them – – that’s the real me. The professional, driven man who owns his own business and works hard . . . that’s the mask

  10. CV Rick…I understand. One of the reasons I cannot get back to work is because of the stress from the expectations. Too much stress can cause my disease to flare. ;-)Nice to have you here CV.

Leave a Reply

