Vasculitis Awareness

Heidi says, “The disease attacks your sinuses, your kidneys and your lungs. With that, I also have the skin vasculitis, which is lesions of the skin.”

Imagine your body doing its best to destroy itself. One rare, but ruthless autoimmune vasculitis called Wegener’s Granulomatosis does just that.

Heidi Ulshafer manages not one, but two busy day spas. She also manages a life threatening illness.

Heidi says, “The disease attacks your sinuses, your kidneys and your lungs. With that, I also have the skin vasculitis, which is lesions of the skin.”

The disease is Wegener’s Granulomatosis or W.G.

Dr. Ellen Meryl Field says, “Which is a form of a vasculitis, which is an inflammatory autoimmune disease that attacks medium-size and small-size vessels but ultimately involves multiple areas in the body.”

Dr. Field diagnosed Heidi in 1995.

The rest of this article is here.

My Analysis: Here is another story about WG. I have it. Heidi’s story parallels mine somewhat. When I went to the doctor, he thought that I might have R.A. too. But, my disease attacked my eyes and kidneys.

It is life-affirming to see someone have the disease for ten years and is still active. I have had this disease almost 5 years now. Thank God, it is not a death-sentence now. We can life through it.

About Cyn Bagley

My life is a mixture of travel, jobs, and disease. You can find some of my novels on amazon.com under the name Cyn Bagley.
This entry was posted in Wegener's Granulomatosis. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

