Tours in 50 Countries


My ggggrandmother Doris Pedersen was born in Kiel when it was part of Denmark. She was the illegitimately concieved daughter of Frederick Oldenburg (King of Denmark). Hans and Doris came to the US near the end of the Civil War, crossed the plains, and settled in Hyrum, Utah. Hans was a landowner (in Denmark that made him minor nobility). Doris was a midwife to a lot of the Mormon wives. She died in 1922.

One of the stories of Doris was that she had a picture of the “true king of Denmark” above her dresser. She would light a candle to him every day.

Because of this story in my family, I took a tour to Denmark. It was fantastic, fun, and quite an experience. Our tour guide spoke excellent English. We toured Coopenhagen, Hamlet’s castle, and Roskilde Castle. For me it was mystical and spiritual. I found out why I had a thing for fish (I loved the buffets.) I had an old man try to speak to me in Norwegian. He said I looked Norge. I found that funny because my family had been in the States for more than 100 years.

It was a great experience. But, what made it good was the tour guide who knew the history of the castles, cities, and landmarks. I felt a real connection to Denmark.

Isango! tours and activities has activities in 50 countries. For instance, they have tours in Las Vegas, Los Angeles, and New York. Even some activities in Florida. I know most of the Las Vegas attractions, having lived there for a few years… but they have a Hoover Dam tour and a Canyon Rim tour (Grand Canyon).

So if you want to learn the history of a place. Take a tour. Isango! is a good place to look.

About Cyn Bagley

My life is a mixture of travel, jobs, and disease. You can find some of my novels on amazon.com under the name Cyn Bagley.
This entry was posted in travel. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

