Some Information About Azathioprine

Azathioprine is used with other medications to prevent rejection of kidney transplants. It is also used to treat severe Wegener’s Granulomatosis (condition in which the body attacks its blood vessels).

Azathioprine is in a class of medications called immunosuppressants. It works by weakening the body’s immune system so it will not attack the transplanted organ or the joints. In the case of WG, Azathioprine is used as a maintenance drug, not as main treatment during a crisis.

Side Effects:

Azathioprine may cause side effects. Tell your doctor if any of these symptoms are severe or do not go away:

upset stomach
vomiting
diarrhea
muscle aches

Some side effects can be serious. The following symptoms are uncommon, but if you experience any of them or those listed in the IMPORTANT WARNING section, call your doctor immediately.

mouth sores
cough
lack of energy
loss of appetite
pain in the upper right part of the stomach
yellowing of the skin or eyes
flu-like symptoms
rash
blurred vision
stomach pain

**Warning: there are a certain amount (5%?) of the population who have severe reactions to this drug (genetic). If you have flu like symptoms or excessive nausea, you may not be able to tolerate this drug. Call your doctor.

My Analysis: I have been on azathioprine for 1 1/2 years. It has been a very good drug for me. I have had a slight bit of nausea when I was getting used to the drug (first two weeks), but so far it has been great. My hair has come back. And it is thick.

Also, I have kidney issues so this drug has been very good for my kidneys too. It is milder than cytoxan. Also, I did not tolerate methotrexate too well, I was happy that I could tolerate this azathioprine.

For more information you can go here.

About Cyn Bagley

My life is a mixture of travel, jobs, and disease. You can find some of my novels on amazon.com under the name Cyn Bagley.
This entry was posted in Azathioprine, Medication. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

