Sunday Scribblings: New

I remember the first time I drove in a new car. I was in Germany. My husband was driving a new company car. The car even smelled new.

After only thirty minutes of driving, I had a freaking headache, yea, a migraine. I was opening the door and trying to empty my stomach.

My husband and I realized that I was allergic to the plastic used in a new car. That new smell? It was some type of gas from the breakdown of the plastic. Ever since, I have stuck with cars over a year old.

So I don’t like really new things. I don’t like new fashions. I have trouble understanding and accepting “trashy” fashion. You know, the type found on Britany Speares and other celebs. I like elegant clothes from the 1920s to the 1940s. Yes, many of the clothes made women look like real women.

I don’t like the new phone technology that has turned a common communication device into a computer. If I want a computer, I will buy a computer.

And so I rant . . .

Do I like anything new? Well yes, I like new friends, new travel destinations, and new dog friends. I like new birds that drop by to visit my balcony of seeds. I like to look at the new snow before anyone has marked it.

I like the turn of the seasons, making everything new again.

About Cyn Bagley

My life is a mixture of travel, jobs, and disease. You can find some of my novels on amazon.com under the name Cyn Bagley.
This entry was posted in Essays, Sunday Scribblings. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Sunday Scribblings: New

  1. Sherry says:

    I don’t see this as a rant as much as an affirmation…I’m not especially someone who likes “new” things but even “new” things become old for me very quickly, rather like a revolving door!! I like very much what you do appreciate about “fresh” starts, unexplored discoveries!

  2. Sherry,Thanks for the read. :-)Cyn

  3. I am allergic to new cars too but it is not the plastic, it is the payments. I enjoyed your “rant”. http://myrtlebeachramblings.blogspot.com/

  4. Myrtle,If I had remembered about new car payments I would have added too. LOLThanks for coming by.Cyn

  5. tumblewords says:

    I was stunned to find how much offgas a new auto exterior puts out. My car is about 18 or so, the gas is gone! Grin. Nice post – didn’t sound ranty to me but very honest and smart.

  6. Thanks tumblewords.My car is 7 years old. My truck is 15 years old ;-)Cyn

Leave a Reply

