Heart of Stone

By C.E. Murphy
ISBN-13: 978-0-373-80292-0

I found C.E. Murphy last year when I was looking for LKH (Hamilton). Her Urban Shaman series especially the first book was good reading.

So when I found Murphy’s newest series, I was hooked. It starts out with Margrit, Grit she is called by her friends and family, running in Central Park. Like some of the best writers, Murphy starts the action where I can see it.

I know that I haven’t been to Central Park. I have seen pictures and videos of the place. But yes, I could see the action. Grit was running. Now she could have been running away from her life, but in this beginning she is doing what I used to do every evening after work–running for her health and to clear her head.

Viola! I could relate to the heroine so that no matter how strange the story gets with vampires and gargoyles, I am there.

Some of the story didn’t fit smoothly for me. I was not happy with the Gargoyle, policeman, and Grit triangle. It just didn’t fit for me. Grit’s honor did not fit with fooling around on Troy.

Also, one of the big themes was about race. Grit works as an attorney in “Legal Aid.” Her “big motive” is about race. I didn’t understand why until several chapters into the book, when I realized that she was African-American. It would have made more sense if I understood that “big fact” at the beginning. The book is not African-American, but it has a real underlying theme about race.

Other than those weak spots for me, I really enjoyed this book and recommend it to others. I give it 4 out of 5 stars.

About Cyn Bagley

My life is a mixture of travel, jobs, and disease. You can find some of my novels on amazon.com under the name Cyn Bagley.
This entry was posted in Book Review. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

