Another Doctor Visit

Yesterday, I was back at my Primary Care Physician (PCP) office to have him check a growth on my leg and my blood pressure.

I was apologizing to the doctor while I was pulling down my pants to show him the growth on my inner right thigh. I don’t find it embarrassing that my doctor has seen as much of my body as my husband. No, I feel really sorry for him. I have a cushingoid appearance from taking prednisone.

My thighs are heavy and rubbled with fat deposits. I look like a commercial for losing weight. The nurse was amazed that I had been on prednisone for five years. It will make you fat, she told me. I know. I gained about forty pounds when I was put on pred this time. In fact, I have stayed at this weight for almost two years.

So my doctor after seeing the growth was positive that I needed to see a dermatologist. This is the second time I have had to have a dermatologist cut out a growth. My doctors are not surprised. I guess having your immune system depressed lets all sorts of things pop out.

So I try to keep things in perspective. I am more worried about my blood pressure. I have had trouble keeping it below 130. Yesterday it was up to 150. Not good at all if I want to keep my kidneys good.

As my pharmacist told me yesterday as I was getting another prescription filled, the kidneys control blood pressure.

So no worries. Worries just cause stress. I will take the medication. I will take my blood pressure every day. And, I will see the dermatologist.

About Cyn Bagley

My life is a mixture of travel, jobs, and disease. You can find some of my novels on amazon.com under the name Cyn Bagley.
This entry was posted in Health, Wegener's Granulomatosis. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Another Doctor Visit

  1. Sideon says:

    **big big big hugs**

  2. Thanks Don,I am really doing OK. :-)Cyn

  3. chiefbiscuit says:

    You don’t have it easy, but, as always, I admire how your battling, Viking spirit comes to the fore. 🙂

  4. chiefb… it is that fighting spirit. I am sure you know which one I mean. LOLCyn

  5. I have Wg’s since 2005, I understand the crap the the pred does to your flesh and skin! I’ve had strech marks from tha ored spilt open, I have the deformaty of fat that you speak of. We go through so much, it is important to keep those sprits up!

  6. Kimba–Truer words were never spoken.:-) Cyn

Leave a Reply

