Half-Naked in the Doctor’s Office

As you probably realize from reading some of my posts, I have an auto-immune disease called Wegener’s Granulomatosis. What you probably don’t realize is that I take chemo-drugs and prednisone to keep my immune system in check. Because my immune system is lowered, I have to get checked for growths on my skin (derma).

So two years ago, I was at the dermatologist in a pair of bra and panties covered with a paper sheet. The doctor was lifting the paper sheet checking my back, stomach, arms, and legs for unsightly growths, any of which could turn into cancer.

I felt sorry for the doctor. By this time, I had had three years of prednisone. My body had turned from the slim body that I was used to wearing to the overweight stretch-marked model that I had become. It was all due to prednisone, disease, and insufficient exercise. And then it got worse (for the doctor).

“The growth is here,” I said and pointed to my crotch. The crotch of course was covered by my white granny panties. I was wearing my newest pair.

“What,” he said with surprise. “I’ll go get a nurse.”

So it wasn’t the doctor who took a look at the growth in my nether regions. It was the nurse. “So what do you want us to do?” She asked.

I thought it was obvious. I had come to have my growths checked and then cut off. Right?

So I said it in slow tones so that she would understand completely. “The growth bothers me. Please cut it off.”

It should have been simple. It turned out that I had to touch the growth. I had to hold my panties to the side so that the doctor (it seemed he was keeping his eyes closed) could cut it off. Finally it was done. The nurse gave me instructions on how to care for the wound. It was in my nether regions. I did mention that…

After I was dressed, I noticed that the doctor couldn’t look me in the eye. He explained that they would test the growth to see if it was cancerous. According to him, it did not have any other significance except that it grew.

I hoped that I hadn’t completely traumatized the doctor.

A good note: it wasn’t cancerous.

So why am I telling you this story? Well, I have another growth. Thankfully not in the crotch, but it is on the upper right thigh. I called for an appointment. Yes, with the same doctor. I wonder what his reaction will be?

About Cyn Bagley

My life is a mixture of travel, jobs, and disease. You can find some of my novels on amazon.com under the name Cyn Bagley.
This entry was posted in Humor, illness, Wegener's Granulomatosis. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Half-Naked in the Doctor’s Office

  1. marsha says:

    How upsetting that must have been. I expect doctors to be professional and sensitive to this sort of thing. I’m not certain I would return to the same doctor. I hope he’s not your only choice.

  2. Marsha,It my case, I thought it was more funny than upsetting. I was in a German hospital the first time and they are not body conscious at all. I saw some things that made this seem very mild. :-)And yes, he is my only choice… going with Tricare ya know. Cyn

Leave a Reply

