Socializing for Introverts

My friend Lynn Raye Harris posted about socializing. Now she is an introvert. I know because we were good friends in Germany as liberal arts majors.

I am also an introvert. But, we did not have a hard time socializing. We did it the introvert way. Time: around noon or so. Place: Ramstein PX. Three or four of us would show up. We’d all get a coffee or two and then we would talk about the projects we were working on… or whatever took our fancy. It was great and we had fun.

Now if you are an extrovert, you would probably think that we are a pitiful small group for socializing. But, it was big enough for us. Introverts don’t need to gladhand. Introverts need some time to be by themselves. Introverts get grouchy if they don’t know anyone at the party.

I remember when I used to go to parties with my sisters. They were both extroverts. I would stand back and they would get more and more excited as they met people they DIDN’t know. I couldn’t understand them and they couldn’t understand me.

A few years ago, I took a course about the difference between the different types of learners and mainly the extreme differences between extroverts and introverts. Extroverts need to bounce ideas off other people. They are the real socializers. Introverts need to bounce ideas off themselves. They need introspection time. Most people are bits of both. But there are some people like myself who are extreme. Yep, I am happiest when I am reading, writing, or dreaming. All of these are solitary occupations. (except for blogging… )

So when you see that woman or man hiding in the corner, don’t feel bad for them. They are probably introverts, trying to catch their breaths… getting a little alone time.

About Cyn Bagley

My life is a mixture of travel, jobs, and disease. You can find some of my novels on amazon.com under the name Cyn Bagley.
This entry was posted in ideas. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

