Do one brave thing


Winter is finally here. As I am sitting here, writing this post, the temperature is 12 degrees. I shiver in my thermals and sweaters.

The birds–scrub jays, finches, and flickers–have been eating us out of seeds. They show up at least three times a day. I can hear the loud cheeping and munching.

The Northern flickers with their red-shafts are a much shyer bunch. They slip in and pound on the seed brick we have hanging over the sunflower seeds. Usually they are very quiet and sneaky. Sometimes they cling to the walls at night. They are out of the wind and ready to sleep.

The finches are noisier and more social. They feel safe because they are too small to be good food. The hawks circle above. We watched the two of them being raised last year. They ate several quail last year. Now they hunt in another area, but they still come home to our apartment complex to sleep.

It has been a good bird year. I am excited to see what next year will bring.

About Cyn Bagley

My life is a mixture of travel, jobs, and disease. You can find some of my novels on amazon.com under the name Cyn Bagley.
This entry was posted in Meme, Weather. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Do one brave thing

  1. shinshige says:

    I hate winter. I appreciate the beauty it brings, but I despise the weather changes. . .

  2. Sorry to hear it. :-)Hope you find a good warm placeCyn

Leave a Reply

