Swine Flu and other thoughts

Yesterday, I was standing in the post office behind a woman who was coughing in her fist and then touching the counters next to us. The counters follow the line all the way to the postal clerks.

Of course I was paranoid. Not only do I have to worry about this swine flu epidemic, but I also have to worry about my lowered auto-immune disease. A few months ago my doctor lowered my imuran because my white blood count was non existent. To you who don’t understand this reference, white blood cells increase when there is infection or illness in the body. It kills and cleans out the infection.

In my case because I have an auto-immune disease, my medications lower my WBC so that I can live… It keeps my disease under control. However, when the WBC is too low, I am susceptible to infections and illnesses like flu. So I have to have a balance.

Interesting that when I use balance I also think of emotional balance. To keep well, I need to keep my life relatively stress-free. My disease can flare if I have been under prolonged stress. So now I know that stress and illness can go hand in hand. And in my case, it can be a killer.

So when I made it to the postal clerk, I mentioned that the woman (who looked like she was not too smart anyway) was coughing in her hand and touching the counters. She assured me that they would wash the counters with a disinfectant. I felt better. Even though I still had been exposed to this woman’s germs, I knew that I would be okay.

However, I have stockpiled hand cleaner. I still wash my hands often. And, I am still pretty isolated except for my post office and grocery runs. So hopefully, I will get through this newest scariness scott-free. Maybe.

Added note: 11:30 a.m. There is one confirmed case of swine flu in Reno, Nevada. It is a two year old child, who has not traveled to Mexico and has spent most of her time in a day care center.

About Cyn Bagley

My life is a mixture of travel, jobs, and disease. You can find some of my novels on amazon.com under the name Cyn Bagley.
This entry was posted in Essays, influenza, Wegener's Granulomatosis. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

