Living in the shadow of a silent killer

Michelle Hopkins, Richmond News
Published: Friday, May 15, 2009

Looking at fitness instructor Cheryl Sharpe, what you see is a slim, attractive woman who exudes health and vitality.

However, her healthy exterior belies the fact that the 34-year-old lives with Vasculitis, a rare disease that could kill her. Vasculitis is a family of 15 rare diseases.

The rest of this story is here.

My Comments: The reason that I like this story is that if you talk to any WG patient, they have a much similar story. Usually they had good health until suddenly they began to get fatigued with lungs, sinus, and/or kidney symptoms. WG is an auto-immune disease, which means that something triggers the immune system to start attacking the body. WG is still a mystery disease because the researchers still do not know what triggers it.

In my case I used to hike up and down the hills and mountains of Germany. When I became ill, my doctors were convinced that if I hadn’t been in such good health that I would have died from the disease.

Now I am chunky from the meds. But, when you look at me, you would not realize that I have a chronic disease.

About Cyn Bagley

My life is a mixture of travel, jobs, and disease. You can find some of my novels on amazon.com under the name Cyn Bagley.
This entry was posted in Vasculitis, Wegener's Granulomatosis. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

