Severe Vasculitis: After 40 Years, Researchers Identify Possible New Treatment

Excerpt from article:

“Although the two therapy regimens were equally effective in reducing patients’ disease activity overall, our results indicate that rituximab is superior to cyclophosphamide in inducing remission for patients experiencing a disease flare,” comments Dr. Specks.

Read the full article here.

My Analysis: Finally a drug regimen that can help folks who flare on the disease. Even though rituximab does have side-effects, they are less harsh than cyclophosphamide (used to be called cytoxan). I am extremely excited about this research.

From talking to people who have taken this treatment, in most cases the vasculitis subsides quickly with little organ damage. In my case I have a lot of kidney damage caused by the disease. Some of the damage was caused while the doctors were trying to get the disease under control.

I am so happy and hope more researchers work with this drug so that we can use it to keep our disease under control. At this time rituximab is not considered a treatment drug for ANCA type vasculitis i.e. Wegener’s, Churg Strauss, and others.

About Cyn Bagley

My life is a mixture of travel, jobs, and disease. You can find some of my novels on amazon.com under the name Cyn Bagley.
This entry was posted in research, Rituxan, treatment, Wegener's Granulomatosis. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Severe Vasculitis: After 40 Years, Researchers Identify Possible New Treatment

  1. Elena says:

    I'm a 17 years old girl from Norway and I was diagnosed with WG in April 2009, though I started to get sick in January. I guess I was lucky and was diagnosed early, though it seemed like a really long time at the time. As I'm reading the stories of other people with WG, yours included, I'm starting to realize just how lucky I was, and that my symptoms have been relatively mild and quickly treated. My disease is still not quite in remission, but I'm trying to be positive and I hope that it will get there soon. I've been treated with Cyclophosphamide, Methotrexate and Imuran, in addition to prednisone, but it didn't have the hoped for effect. Now I'm getting Rituximab and CellCept which I'm hoping will work better for me. I've already gotten Rituximab twice, two doses in February and two in August, and the doctors seem really positive about this drug.I just discovered your blog and I'm going to keep reading it as I think it's nice seeing there are others out there who is experiencing similar ordeals.

  2. Hi Elena,Thanks for the comments. My family came from Norway and Denmark in the mid 1800s.Yes, this disease can be hard, but I am so glad to be living. Fortunately for me I was able to live a full live before I became ill at the age of 41.Hopefully the Rituximab will put you into remission. You have your whole live ahead of you and from what I have heard, that particular drug is much better for your health.Goodluck. If you ever want to send an email, it is cynbagley@hotmail.com.

Leave a Reply

