Labs done for this quarter

One of the things that we don’t like to talk about as WG patients is the time we spend at doctor offices and laboratories. And yes, I was getting my labs done this morning at the laboratory a few miles from the apartment. They even know me by name.

I usually have to give about two or three vials of blood and one container of urine. If you want dignity, then you’ll find out soon enough that there is no dignity for those of us with chronic illnesses. I had to wait an hour before it was my turn.

I watched a poor woman in a wheelchair. She couldn’t sit straight and had to be strapped in by her chest. At my guess she probably had Lou Gehrig’s disease or extreme MS. She could barely talk. She couldn’t control her arms or her legs and they seemed to move without her volition.

It is at those moments that I am so grateful that my disease is under control. I feel an extreme sadness that anyone has to go through that kind of illness. The dichotomy sometimes makes me feel guilty. But, when it came my time to have the needle pushed into my arm, I hardly felt it because I was thinking of the life of the other woman. It was over in just a few minutes.

And, my doctor will be looking for an upward trend on inflammation markers and cholesterol in the blood, and creatinine in the urine. If there is any change he will call me. If not, I get to go to the lab in three months and do it again.

About Cyn Bagley

My life is a mixture of travel, jobs, and disease. You can find some of my novels on amazon.com under the name Cyn Bagley.
This entry was posted in Disease, labs, Wegener's Granulomatosis. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

