Thousand Oaks woman gained miracle kidney, funding restrictions helped take it away

By Tom Kisken

An hour before sunrise, Jeannette Castaneda unfurled a bed sheet over a reclining chair to keep pale green vinyl from clinging to her arms. She huddled under a blanket as a technician jabbed her with a needle, leashing her to the machine that does what her kidneys cannot.

Because she needs a miracle. Again.

What I have to say: This woman lost her new kidney because she couldn’t afford the maintenance medications to keep her kidney functioning. This is a real problem for many folks who have chronic diseases and especially those with Vasculitis disease. It is a very expensive disease to keep under control.
 
I wish I knew what the solution was. Thankfully, my kidneys are still ticking although severely damaged. I am very grateful that my family has been able to support me, which has gained me eight years and maybe more. But I will be on medication for the rest of my life unless a miracle drug or procedure cures the disease. I am still hoping.
About Cyn Bagley

My life is a mixture of travel, jobs, and disease. You can find some of my novels on amazon.com under the name Cyn Bagley.
This entry was posted in Medication, Vasculitis. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

