A question to explore: How do we count the cost of autoimmune disease?

The associated cost of autoimmune disease has become a significant portion of the rising cost of U. S. health care. This is because of a severe lack of awareness among the general public and medical practitioners, unequal allocation of research funding and focus at the National Institutes of Health (NIH), and a lack of coordinated care and standardized diagnostic tests.

The rest of the article is here.

What I have to say: According to the article auto-immune disease is the tenth killer of women over 65. This includes women with diabetes, thyroid diseases, and Vasculitis diseases. When you take these diseases singly, it doesn’t seem that many people; however, if you add them together it becomes certain that auto-immune diseases are rampant in our society.

An auto-immune disease has two components – genetic and environmental. In the Vasculitis research community many of the researchers have looked at viruses and allergies for the environmental component. After talking to many patients with Vasculitis disease, it might be that the missing component may be some type of industrial component such as organic solvents, cilica, sick buildings, or other industrial components in this vein. I have been pointing towards these types of environmental components since my brain started working again after my stint on cytoxan. Many patients agree. The problem is that by the time we are diagnosed, they can’t tell what triggered our diseases.

About Cyn Bagley

My life is a mixture of travel, jobs, and disease. You can find some of my novels on amazon.com under the name Cyn Bagley.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A question to explore: How do we count the cost of autoimmune disease?

  1. frances says:

    I recently came across your blog and have been reading along. I thought I would leave my first comment. I don't know what to say except that I have enjoyed reading. Nice blog. I will keep visiting this blog very often.SusanTonsil Stones Removal Guide

  2. Cyn Bagley says:

    Hi Susan,A long long time ago now (I think 2007), my good friend convinced me to start blogging. And then I realized that patients with Vasculitis disease and especially Wegener's Granulomatosis didn't have much on the web to encourage them.It is a hard road. Thanks for reading.Yours, Cyn

Leave a Reply

