When you have to see a dentist

So I had a dental appointment on Wednesday. I usually hate to go not because I’m treated badly, but because I usually have either cavities or another tooth ready to give up the ghost. This time I had both.

Apparently from my prolonged use of medications (prednisone and chemo) I have a condition called “dry mouth.” This condition allows the bacteria to flourish much quicker than it would if a person had a normal mouth.

So I had two cavities and one molar on its way. It really needs a crown. Now comes the special circumstances and you thought that the special circumstances were the disease and medications. Oh no — I have another genetic problem.

Small mouth and big teeth. When the dentist put in the last crown, I could hardly keep my mouth open. My jaw cracks now every time I open it. I had an impression done of my teeth when I lost one of my bottom molars (same reason) and they had to use a child’s mold. When someone (anyone, even a toothbrush) is at that back molar I give up my stomach contents.

It gives me a problem. I can wait for 6 months to a year and have the tooth pulled or I can try for a crown. As you probably can guess the prices are in favor of the pull. Plus that would be the third tooth on the same side of my mouth. I wouldn’t be able to chew there at all.

I would have a zig zag pattern on that side of the mouth. I really would like to save the tooth. There is another problem. Even if the dentist successfully crowns that tooth, I may lose it in two years or more.

Dang– I just don’t know what to do.

About Cyn Bagley

My life is a mixture of travel, jobs, and disease. You can find some of my novels on amazon.com under the name Cyn Bagley.
This entry was posted in Chronic disease, Dental, Disease, Medical and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

